18 days to go: a compulsive mind-wanderer attempts to meditate

meditative breathing

Day #4: meditative breathing

Morning was not exactly hectic, but a couple of tasks absorbed my attention and soon it was time for going to work.

By the evening, contrary to my expectation, my mind was not so cluttered. I felt – well – peaceful and satisfied with work done, looking forward to some more.

When I walked in the nearby garden, I again tried mindful breathing and body-watching.

1. In departure from earlier, there were just a couple of thoughts – one related to my book that I decided to revise.

2. The second thought involved different notions of time in the West (where available time is thought to be finite and linear, mostly) and East where the time is thought to be infinitely stretchable and circular.

3. I felt tingling in my left side of the head, while the previous sensation of deeper breath returned.

In general, today all seemed clear. I had fewer thoughts and felt less distracted even when it was the same place virtually exploding with stimuli.

I sort of feel curious how tomorrow will be.

I have not gone beyond five minutes – I should try seven minutes tomorrow and see.

2 thoughts on “18 days to go: a compulsive mind-wanderer attempts to meditate

  1. Anand Parikh says:

    I almost laughed when i read “infinitely stretchable and circular”, maybe the fact that it is true in India stopped me from laughing.
    Waiting for the next post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

