If all studies were this interesting….! First feel of weaving

My study of carpet weaving took me to Rajasthan. The host was very accommodating, so the study extended itself into actual observation of activities in the field – in this case, a couple of village in Alwar. My first reaction was that Rajasthan, labeled as desert area was greener than where I am from.

En route to Narhet, at Thanagazhi (c)margieparikh

En route to Narhet, at Thanagazhi (c)margieparikh

The people there take work seriously.

They mean it.

They mean it.

The villages and their people have their own rhythm of life. I see this youth atop this small tree. His job: cut a branch without harming the nest.

Task: cut the branch off without shaking the nest. (c)margieparikh

Task: cut the branch off without shaking the nest. (c)margieparikh

The birds are busy, too. After lunch, I wait for a while before I finally catch them in the act:

Thirst! (c) margieparikh

Thirst! (c) margieparikh

It is quite bearable to be out into the open at this time of the day, thanks to a small sand-storm the day earlier. The villagers look completely at home. After a day that starts early, noon is the time to rest under the shed even if they are all awake.

Time for a shed (c)margieparikh

Time for a shed (c)margieparikh

Next door, the man does not sit up as we pass by. From distance, I could only see his foot perched up on the knee. He turns slightly to watch us for a moment, but remains in his horizontal position.

Time to be horizontal (c) margieparikh

Time to be horizontal (c) margieparikh

A few steps ahead and this man is already up. As I take my camera out and ask for permission, he signals me to wait. Then he puts his turban on his head. We are now ready for the camers:

Happy to help, but not before I put my turban on (c) margieparikh

Happy to help, but not before I put my turban on (c) margieparikh

We close in on the shed where carpets were on the looms. Some people prefer to set up looms outside their homes and weave in a group, because that helps them keep up the pace and avoid slacking off. But, we are strange creatures in this micro-community out here under a shed: buffaloes, goats, boys lazing off… all to keep company with the busy weaving women. The boys poke fun at us, we don’t understand, but love their bursts of laughter.

I don't mind it at all if this giggle came at my expense (c) margieparikh

I don’t mind it at all if this giggle came at my expense (c) margieparikh

Our weaver friends are gracious enough to let me try my hand at the loom. I am big and heavy. They are nimble and small. Their bench is too small for me. Still, I have my moment of instruction under their accommodating smiles and patience.

A moment of learning: a carpet really comes out of labor of love (c) margieparikh

A moment of learning: a carpet really comes out of labor of love (c) margieparikh

They are under continual supervision and help by Shakuntala, who covers about fifteen villages nearby, and helps weavers maintain the quality of their work. She is very patient with me, who was all-thumbs with weaving:

Shakuntala, the weaver-friend at Jaipur Rugs, helping weavers  (c) margieparikh

Shakuntala, the weaver-friend at Jaipur Rugs, helping weavers (c) margieparikh

We move on to the next destination. I could see Pratapgarh perched atop a hill, and ask the driver to stop the car. A bunch of boys, who were doing I-don’t-know-what, photobomb immediately and demand that I take more pictures of them.

I love this photobombing! (c) margieparikh

I love this photobombing! (c) margieparikh

But I am adamant, too. I am bent upon taking an unencumbered picture of Pratapgarh, and in a few moments, I succeed:

Pratapgarh in Alwar (c) margieparikh

Pratapgarh in Alwar (c) margieparikh

Someone has driven a car up top on this building. Probably weaving is easier than that:

Whoa! Someone really knew driving (c) margieparikh

Whoa! Someone really knew driving (c) margieparikh

Evening is upon us. We are greeted by the evening skyline marked by the Amer fort. No time to go in, but the beauty strikes even from outside:

Amer fort

Amer fort

Jaipur is soon upon us. This is Moti Dungari just at the fringe. My camera signs off.

Moti Dungri, Jaipur (c) margieparikh

Moti Dungri, Jaipur (c) margieparikh

2 thoughts on “If all studies were this interesting….! First feel of weaving

  1. B B Gupta says:

    Yes, we want an Achchhe Din post from you; a business school teacher’s perspective. On completing one year Modi said that achchhe din have already come. Does it mean that we should expect nothing more from him? Only people from his state can really understand him.

    Like

  2. Ajun Saxena says:

    Mam, we like your wearing BJP colours. Now you should write an Achchhe Din post too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

